061113

GPP

WOD 1:

3x max hollow body max reps
3x max superman max reps

WOD 2:

12 minute AMRAP:

3 swings RT
3 lunges with kb in rack RT
3 single-arm jerks RT
3 kb squats RT
Repeat complex with LT to fulfill one round

WOD 3:

3x max chin-ups
Kettlebell Sport:

Sport level snatch (4 rounds)

3 rounds, submaximal effort (85%):
Double-arm jerk – hold rack 15 seconds, jerk, hold top position 15 seconds. Rest until recovered between efforts.

3x max pullups

30+ minutes Run/jump rope/etc. Low intensity and longer time is the goal here.

8 comments

  1. WOD 1:
    3x max hollow body- 20, 10, 10
    3x max superman- 20, 10, 13

    WOD 2: with 35#
    Total: 8.5 rounds

    WOD 3:
    3x max chin-ups- 14, 8, 7

  2. Kettlebell Sport Training:
    Snatch Level 9, 4 Rounds, 24kg 11-12 RPM
    I struggled quite a bit on the 4th round for both hands. It was due to grip strength and general hand discomfort. The issue wasn’t lack of rest/recovery between sets. Moving to level 10 and taking 30 seconds off the rest time won’t be a problem. Adjusting my grip so it lasts for the entire two minutes will be the focus.

    Double Jerk with hold:
    20kg bells. 3 sets: 5, 7, 6.
    This was a lot harder than I imagined it would be. The first 4 reps of each set were pretty solid, then things got really shaky… literally. Rack position was somewhat comfortable. I had a lifting coach who really stressed good rack position. It can always use more work, but the overhead lockout was the real challenge for these sets.

    Pull-Ups:
    Dead Hang – 8, 9, 7.

    40 minutes of hilly jogging. Felt great, could have gone longer but needed to head to the office.

    1. Coach,
      Some days my schedule doesn’t allow for 2 straight hours of training. I usually dedicate 2 hours for my training sessions. Joint mobility, stretching, warm-up takes 15 – 20 minutes. Going through 3 or 4 rounds of the sport levels takes anywhere from 15 to 25 minutes assistance work is another 10 to 15 minutes. If there is no cardio I can push and do this in an hour. If there’s cardio I can’t always do it all at once. If I have to split up my workouts into two sessions a day how would you recommend doing so? Or would it be worth it to eliminate something from the workout and keep things at one training session per day.

      1. It’s really up to you. I hate two sessions a day.

        The Sport level is really the priority – it’s the most specific to what you want to do.

        I have seen some coaches only program sport-specific work and running (long lower intensity monostructural work) and be successful, and so if it were me, I would punt the heavy repeated stuff.

      2. Also, if you’re limited in time, I would focus some effort in the static positions – if you’re shaky up top, that is probably the main thing keeping you from going the full 10 minutes. So a quicker workout might be:

        Sport level
        Static hold jerk or snatch
        Aerobic

  3. Well, I have worked with other coaches who focus only on sport-specific lifts and low intensity cardio. I, personally, have been seeing better results with a program that adds a little diversity while focusing on the primary two lifts. I am not a big fan of two workouts a day with, but do enjoy a random evening jog or kb swing/juggling session
    I can typically perform the entire training session at one time. However with a family and work, I run into days that don’t allow for it. I’ll document those for you, and on those days I’ll put the effort into the sport specific stuff and the static work.

    1. Cool, that is good info.

      Then I would stick with the sport level and heavy assistance repeated effort/static stuff if you need to cut something short (especially considering we are still some weeks out, we should spend some time on strength building….put those 28s to use).

Leave a Reply

